This is an historical archive of the activities of the MRC Anatomical Neuropharmacology Unit (MRC ANU) that operated at the University of Oxford from 1985 until March 2015. The MRC ANU established a reputation for world-leading research on the brain, for training new generations of scientists, and for engaging the general public in neuroscience. The successes of the MRC ANU are now built upon at the MRC Brain Network Dynamics Unit at the University of Oxford.

Semmelweis-Budapest Prize and Kuffler Scholarship Foundation

Peter Somogyi, Unit Director, received the Semmelweis-Budapest Prize 2012 and delivered his lecture “Co-operative chronocircuits in the hippocampus of the brain” at the Hungarian Academy of Sciences at 2.00pm on the 22nd November 2012. He has dedicated the 10,000 Euro prize to the setting up of the Stephen W.  Kuffler Scholarship Foundation. Stephen Kuffler was a pioneer genius and an excellent mentor and tutor of talented students, several of whom went on to win Nobel Prizes. He founded the first department of neurobiology in the USA at Harvard University. See highlights of Kuffler's contribution to science in Hubel's Eye, Brain and Vision.


The founding members of the Foundation are:

David H. Hubel, MNAS, Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine (1981)

Eric R., Kandel, MNAS, Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine (2000)

Edward A. Kravitz, MNAS, George Packer Berry Professor of Neurobiology

John G. Nicholls, FRS, Professor of Neuroscience

A. David Smith, FMedSci, Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology

Peter Somogyi, FRS, FMedSci, CMHAS, Professor of Neurobiology

E. Sylvester Vizi, MHAS, Institute of Experimental Medicine, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Torsten Wiesel, MNAS, 1981 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Some of the pupils of Stephen W. Kuffler Back row: Ed Furshpan, Steve, David Huble Front row: Dave Potter, Ed Kravitz, Tosten Wiesel Photograph by J. Gagliardy